Category Archives for Technical Comparisons

Raid 5 vs Raid 10 Comparison Chart

RAID 5 vs. RAID 10

A RAID (redundant array of independent disks) combines multiple physical drives into one virtual storage device that offers more storage and, in most cases, fault tolerance so that data can be recovered even if one of the physical disks fails.

RAID configurations are organized into levels such as RAID 0, RAID 1, RAID 5, RAID 6 and RAID 10. RAID levels 0 through 6 are called standard levels. The most common RAID configurations are RAID 0 (striping, where data is split into blocks stored across different physical disks), RAID 1 (mirroring, where multiple copies of data are stored on separate disks for redundancy), RAID 5 (distributed parity, which includes striping plus storing parity information for error recovery), and RAID 6 (dual parity).

This comparison looks at RAID 5 and RAID 10 in detail

Comparison chart

Raid Comparison 5 vs 10